#IdleNoMore Poem and Letter Presented to the Governor General’s Wife and the Governor General

I felt greatly honoured and thankful to be given the opportunity to speak about Idle No More (INM) on Frequency Feminisms – Radio Activism this past Saturday, Feb. 16th.

On the show I share a poem and letter I wrote about INM that were presented to the Governor General’s wife, Her Excellency Sharon Johnston, C.C. at the end of January which she in turn, shared with her husband, His Excellency, the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada.

The opportunity to have my poem and letter presented in person to them, came about quite by chance in that I was reading my INM poem in class and some people came through on a tour and the Art Director heard my poem and amazingly, announced she would be at Rideau Hall the very next day and that if I gave her a copy, she would put it under glass and present it to the Governor General’s wife, explaining she knows these issues are close to her heart.

I was stunned. My classmates had to repeat to me later, what she had said as I was in disbelief about it all. Needless to say, I was nervous to send a poem encouraging civil disobedience and blockades to cripple the economy, to the government!

I was severely sleep deprived at the time, but I had no time to think about it as she needed the copy to take with her the very next day. So in my delirious state, I wrote a two page letter to accompany the poem to ensure they understood where I was coming from.

Much to my surprise, I heard back about a week later upon the Art Director’s return, that they had both read my poem and my letter and were very impressed and inspired by them! I felt greatly relieved as I had not been able to sleep well since sending it.

Here are the links to the radio show (in two parts) where you can hear the interview, the letter and the poem:

Part 1 (you can fast forward 27 minutes in):

http://frequencyfeminisms.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/frequency-feminisms-february-16-2013-pt-4.mp3

Part 2 (you can fast forward 22:11 mins in if you want to only hear me read the poem):

http://frequencyfeminisms.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/frequency-feminisms-february-16-2013-pt-5.mp3

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Priscilla Judd
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 01:26:30

    I have no sound -where can I read your poem and your letter Thank you for doing this. With great respect. I salute you for your courage to stand and speak what must be said.

    Reply

  2. Clear Wind Blows Over the Moon
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 02:24:23

    Thank you very much. 🙂 I am going to think over your request and will let you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

