Nation of Disregard – I Hear You! #poetry

~

We were walking along, enjoying the free flowing lake, recently melted from its frozen state…

Zig zagging waves from the gentle blowing wind… whispers of peace…

Grandfather sun rays shine down on the water; cascading all over, reflecting glints and sparkles…

All that movement… the new tree buds… the water fowl and birds…

Reflecting back at us the pronounced announcement of the world waking up from its winter slumber…

New life springing…

Nuthatches, woodpeckers, Canada geese, 4 coupled swans, myriad sparrows, red winged blackbirds and mourning doves.

Then we saw our first robin of the year…. watched him do his careful but determined dance with a worm in the ground – Pouncing… pulling on that worm… releasing, waiting… pouncing, pulling on that worm… releasing… waiting.

The patient bird gets the worm.

Chewed trees from the local beaver… and swaying bull rushes and long marsh grasses… nature rattles out its beats…

Suddenly… there was a flurry of Canada geese flying right in front of us into the lake… and there was a large dog chasing them from where they’d been relaxing on the grass.

The owner; oblivious, breaking the law allowing him off leash… and my friend… was terrified. I stood there between them in case the dog decided to come at us… but they went on as did we… but in the opposite direction.

We continued on walking, talking, enjoying the day… soaking up the warm sun and the endless beauty that nature is.

Then a time later who appeared? But this dog again… and this time he acted out aggressively barking at us and my friend was further terrorized…

So I stood firm and did my best Cesar Milan letting the dog know I… am the calm, assertive pack leader… not willing to put up with his aggressive scare tactics.

The owner came along as oblivious as before but this time I yelled out to her that her dog was terrorizing my friend, not once… but twice… and she replied defensively, “Well the dog is more scared of you!” – Like this somehow made it okay.

I thought to myself, I know this is true… and I’m not scared, but this doesn’t dismiss her bad ownership skills in letting an excitable dog get even more excited… to the point of acting out in aggression against people.

She put on the leash reluctantly… and went on her way down the path… but within minutes we could see she had the leash off again and was breaking the law again… letting her dog go on to terrorize whoever was up ahead; geese or people – take your pick.

Her complete disregard reminded me of the woman who hit me earlier in the day as I sat eating a packed lunch in my parked car.

Instead of being alarmed, concerned or apologetic… she was angry and dismissive… she must hit people a lot… which I said to her…

And after going back n forth in a heated discussion about damage I said in a very firm voice, “Just own it! You hit me pretty hard; just own it & say you’re sorry!”

And she did… finally… VERY begrudgingly… she said sorry…

Like it was beneath her to do so… like in admitting she was sorry that would somehow implicate her… for doing wrong. In saying sorry… it might actually make her human… for a moment – God forbid!

Like in saying sorry… it would show weakness to care… to care at all… going against the very grain of who she has chosen to be… and so after reluctantly uttering this appeasement… she took off in her fury… in a hurry…

These people… the woman at the park with her terrorizing dog… and this other angry woman using her car as a weapon, hitting people…

Both echo the greater disregard that most of society has…

Disregard for their fellow man or woman…

Disregard for the animals…

Disregard for the earth…

Disregard for ALL Life…

I hear you… nation of Disregard…

I hear you… nation of Consumption…

I hear you… nation that worships the all mighty dollar… as the answer to all of your problems…

I hear you… lost in the Chaos of your Longing…

Your Longing… for Belonging…

I hear you… Lost in the Deafening Roar of your Disregard…

< < < <    > > > >

I hear you… in your denial of the most basic and natural human care for your fellow man or woman…

I hear you… Deny yourself the very same basic care…

The echoes of your Pain and your Fear, Roar down the corridors of Humanity…

Deafeningly Loud…

I Hear You…

I Hear You…

Drowning Out…

… … …

All That Matters…

~

©2013 Clear Wind Blows Over the Moon

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yourothermotherhere
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 18:26:05

    Behind all anger is fear.

    Reply

  2. Clear Wind Blows Over the Moon
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 21:03:36

    I find that behind anger can also be great sadness if a person digs deeper. Anger can be one of the most motivating emotions if embraced and used constructively.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

