Redwood Tree – Treasured Guardian of Sentinel Grace – Poem

forest glade
redwood tree
gave me shade
helped me see
taught me to grow
how to ground
roots deep below
wisdom profound

to reach up far into the light
bending swaying on windy night
calm; even amidst the storm
serenely adapting ancient form
freely giving shelter shade
balanced, fair, lofty staid

teaching me about healing
leaves falling, bark peeling
learning to let go
of self important ego
releasing what’s not needed
clears the ground to be seeded
in many years of healing toil
rotted earth becomes fecund soil

I departed from you a wiser entity
thank you for this inner sanctity
although many years we’ve been apart
your wisdom dwells within my heart

I see you now in my mind’s eye
how your branches, cones adorn the sky
your leaves above; patterning lace
treasured guardian of sentinel grace

©2014 Clear Wind Blows Over the Moon

6912954532_7d0eb04467_z

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carolahand
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 16:20:12

    This is so beautiful and profound. I love the imagery throughout, and especially – “patterning lace … of sentinel grace.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

