If it weren’t for nature, I wouldn’t be here…

If it weren’t for nature, I wouldn’t be here.

It fascinates me and I notice things most people don’t, like:

-When a fin whale surfaces for air it comes up 1 or 2 times more before it deep dives and disappears. Did you know they are the second largest animal in the world?

-When Canada geese land in water, they land feet first and most take a drink of water immediately thereafter.

-Great horned owls make a high pitched screeching sound and fly whisper quiet.

-Butterflies have long tongues that curl up that they use to drink nectar from flowers.

-You can feel an animal’s life force before you physically see it.

-A bunny will preen itself while you watch if it trusts you enough but it’s always alert; ears moving this way and that. It can teach about self care and to always be aware.

-Skunks can be very determined when they dig in garbage and they don’t give up easily.

-Bison will sometimes grind their teeth; at least I’ve heard a male do that.

-Foxes often pounce on their prey. It’s quite neat to see as their big fluffy tail floats behind.

-Coyotes move rapidly. I hear them howling and can track their movements by sound.

-Bats fly in an erratic formation (sesame street bat puppets capture the movement well).

-I’ve seen a smaller sized possum stand down a racoon twice its size.

If you are also a nature lover and notice and appreciate such details, please comment what you’ve noticed in nature and then share this.

neat flowerButterfly curled tongue LR -0516  bunny-cute-3Fin_Whale_Hero_and_Circle_Image_107654butterflies hungry glow worm beetle

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nicciattfield
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 05:41:27

    I heard frogs on Table Mountain yesterday, out after the rain, croaking in counterpoint to one another from two different sides of a stream.

    And I saw a beautiful sea bird stay perfectly still on the winds, before dropping lower to search for fish in the water. His grace and stillness inspired awe.

    Reply

    • Clear Wind Blows Over the Moon
      Sep 19, 2014 @ 05:44:00

      Thank you for your sharing. While I watched the Canada geese land in a lfurry of activity last night it was so interesting to see their different flight styles and to be so close as they came in from all directions.

      Reply

      • nicciattfield
        Sep 19, 2014 @ 05:48:46

        Birds are so beautiful! I love your heading, if it wasn’t for nature, I wouldn’t be here. So true, from an interconnected perspective of life, but also from a spirit or soul perspective.

      • Clear Wind Blows Over the Moon
        Sep 19, 2014 @ 06:24:00

        Thanks. I agree. For me it is literal in the sense that during the worst of the abuse I endured in my childhood, I would escape to nature as often as I could, and stay outdoors as long as possible, to avoid going home.

        It was in nature I found my true family – Mother Earth, Father Sky, Grandmother Moon and Grandfather Sun… and somewhere in those moments in nature, I connected with my spirit and with my Creator… and I found myself, although I didn’t know it till many years later.

        I am still finding myself today but those parts of me that found sanctuary in the plants, animals, the creek, dirt and sky… are still with me and it is the foundation of my entire life.

        Nature is and has been the only constant in my life. If it weren’t for nature, I wouldn’t be here.

  2. skywalkerstoryteller
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 14:53:53

    For the past few weeks the Sand Hill Cranes have been leaving Homer, Alaska. They fly in large groups their wings spread out wide and their deep crying song resonates through the air like echoes. They are a unique site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

