I remember as a kid… #vss #poetry #mpy #herstory

~

I remember as a kid…

~

in a car

up a mountain

looking down at the city

like jewels of offering

on a plate of night

~

laying on the grass

looking up at clouds

wondering what would have happened

if I hadn’t been born

~

long, cold rainy nights

waiting in the car

outside the legion

time laughed wickedly

in unison with the drunks

at the windows

~

eating the best smoked fish

~

climbing tree branches

my ladder to freedom

like a dog at my feet

loyal to the acrid end

when I had to descend

and go back to

the homeless home

~

building dams in the creek

water spiders skated free

showing me I could be

minnows nibbled toes

water spoke to me

of a future

unknown

~

my dog

~

the land

~

these were the gossamer filaments

that held the childhood, helter-skelter world

of dark nights

and loose balloons

together

Leave a Reply

